The Australian Immigration Points Assessing Your Application

in Immigration

There are four basic criteria that an individual should meet. The first criteria is age which requires that a person must be below the age 45 during his application. The second criterion is related to proficiency in English Language Skills. The applicant is required to be proficient in English and should get an IELTS score of 6 in all the four levels of the exam. The third criterion is the requirement of Post-Secondary Education. If a person does not have a post-secondary educational qualification he will not qualify for the immigration visa. The fourth criterion is Occupation. To be able to qualify in getting the Australian Immigration Visa, the person's vocation is amongst those listed on the list of skills accepted in Australia.

There is also an evaluation of the general criteria to determine his score on the Australian Immigration Points System. This general criterion verifies that the applicant does not suffer from any contagious or hereditary diseases, he must meet the minimum requirements for finances, he has no criminal records or proceedings against his name in any court of law and he is not mentally insane. When all of these criteria have been satisfied the applicant can now get in touch with the Australian Immigration Consultant at the Embassy for a consultation on how to process his application.

Australian government has made some changes in its Australia Immigration Points last July 2011. Placing greater emphasis on work experience and high level educational qualifications is the content of the New Australia Immigration Points System. The awarding of points is still awarded for study in Australia, regional study, community languages, partner’s skills and for completing an approved Professional Year. But this time, points it is no longer awarded for a particular occupation. Consequently, the new points test will only apply to Australian Visas like Subclass885 Sponsored, Subclass 885 Skilled Independent, Subclass 175 Skilled Independent, Subclass 475 Skilled Regional Sponsored and Subclass 176 Skilled Sponsor.

One important changes to the points test is the given opportunity for people aged 46 to 49 as they are now allowed to apply, though there are no points can be earned under age for applicants from 45 to 49 years of age. Furthermore, points can be earned for English language proficiency above Competent English, which is a minimum score of 6 on each of the four components of the International English Language Testing System (IELTS).


Author Box
Louie Jane Caturza has 232 articles online

If you have the plan of immigrating to Australia, Global Visas will provide you the assistance that you need. You may visit for more details and information.

Add New Comment

The Australian Immigration Points Assessing Your Application

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
Related searches:

The Australian Immigration Points Assessing Your Application

This article was published on 2011/06/09